Lake Forest Elementary School - Home of the Lakers

Award Winning Books

Since 1974, millions of California children have nominated, read, and voted for the winners of the
California Young Reader Medal.

     Young people, teachers, and librarians submit titles to the CYRM Committee. Members of the committee decide upon a list of nominees. This years books are displayed in our library and students are encouraged to read them throughout the year. Nominated picture books are read to the Kindergarten through 3rd grades in late winter. In early spring all students get to vote for their favorite nominated book and results are sent to the committee. Winners are announced in early May. 

The 2017-2018 California Young Reader Medal Nominees are:


Night Animals: by Gianna Marino. Penguin Random House, 2015.

If You Plant a Seed: by Kadir Nelson. Scholastic, 2015.

Gaston: by Kelly Dipucchio. Illustrated by Christian Robinson. Simon and Schuster, 2014.

The Snatchabook: by Helen Docherty. Illustrated by Thomas Docherty. Sourcebooks

Jabberwocky, 2013.

The Book with No Pictures: by B.J. Novak. Penguin Random House, 2014.

 Ms. Rapscott’s Girls: by Elise Primavera. Penguin Random House, 2015.

Pax: by Sara Pennypacker. Illustrated by Jon Klassen. HarperCollins, 2016.

Dash: by Kirby Larson. Scholastic, 2016.

Picture Books for Older Readers
   Right Word: by Bryant, J.
Barbed Wire Baseballby Moss, M.
Noisy Paint Box: by Rosenstock, B.


California Young Reader Medal winners for 2017:

Sam and Dave Dig a Hole  by Mac Barnett. Illustrated by illustrated by Klassen, Jon, 2014. 
Rump: the true story of Rumpelstiltskin,by Shurtliff, Liesl  2013.
Each kindness by Woodson, Jacqueline , illustrated by Lewis, Earl B. 2012
 Newberry Medal winner for 2017The Girl Who Drank the Moon, written by Kelly Barnhill
Caldecott Medal winner for 2017
: Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat, illustrated and written by Javaka Steptoe
Coretta Scott King winner for 2017:The 2017 Coretta Scott King Book Awards Author Winner is given to Congressman John Lewis and Andrew Aydin for “March Book: Three,”